Quite some time ago we took a look at “Week” icons. Today we will examine a rather elaborate example of that type in detail:

SedmitsaJacksonsAuction(Courtesy of Jacksonsauction.com)

You may recall that “Week” icons represent the days of the week with icon types.  This is how they appear on this example:

1. The Resurrection, representing Sunday.

2.  The Assembly of the Archangels, representing Monday.  Here it is shown in the form of the “Assembly of the Archangel Michael”:


3.  The Beheading of John the Forerunner, representing Tuesday (or John Baptizing, in some examples).


4.  The Annunciation, representing Wednesday:

5.  The Washing of the Feet [of the disciples of Jesus], for Thursday:

6.  The Crucifixion, representing Friday:


Finally, the large lower image is

7.  All Saints, representing Saturday.  It consists of the large central image depicting heaven, with Lord Sabaoth.  Above him is an angel holding two disks, each with the abbreviation Svyat — “Holy”  and an angel below holding disks with the IC XC abbreviation for “Jesus Christ.”  And below that Jesus is enthroned in the Deisis manner, with Mary approaching at left and John the Forerunner at right.  At the sides are ranks of angels:


With the “heaven” image is the gathering of the various ranks of saints below, and those together form the “All Saints” type. 


It is rather difficult to see, but just below heaven is a tree with a serpent in it, part of a scene with Adam and Eve and God the Father in the Garden of Eden at left of the tree, and at right Adam and Eve being forced out of the garden by an angel with a fiery sword:


This example adds to those seven “day” types the six days of Creation, each showing Lord Sabaoth:


They begin at upper left.  Each is given a letter number, followed by the word den’ — “Day.”  in the two at lower right we see the creation of animals and birds, followed by the creation of Adam and Eve.

At top center is the “Lamb of God” type — The altar with a vessel containing the child Jesus, and two angels with ripida — ceremonial fans — at the sides.


To the left are saints Nicholas the Wonderworker and Vasiliy/Basil the Great:


At right are Gregory the Theologian and John Chrysostom:


Down the left side we see:

John the Theologian (the Evangelist), Petr and Alexiy, Metropolitans of Moscow, and Isaiah and Jacob of Rostov:


Below them are Antoniy and Feodosiy Pecherskiy and the Evangelist Mark:


At top right we see the Evangelist Matthew, and below him the Metropolitans of Moscow Iona/Jonah and Filipp/Philip; and below them Leontiy and Ignatiy of Rostov:


In the central area at bottom we find at left Blessed Vasiliy/Basil and Blessed Maxim, Fools for Christ’s sake. 


At right are the Fools for Christ’s sake Blessed Isidor and Blessed John:


The final and center image at the base is one we do not often see — the Убиение/Killing of Tsarevich Dmitriy of Moscow, Wonderworker. That, of course is a political image, but then religion and politics often mix in Russian icons:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.